Loading Events
Deprecated: Function tribe_get_view is deprecated since version 5.13.0! Use On version 6.0.0 this function will be removed. Please refer to https://evnt.is/v1-removal for template customization assistance. instead. in /home/ottawaconvention/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5379
This event has passed.

2021 marks the 100th anniversary of the first woman being elected to the House of Commons. Join us on December 7 to commemorate a century of women breaking parliamentary glass ceilings. Get a chance to hear from groundbreaking women who represent firsts and from inspirational youth leading the next generation of powerful women.

Speakers* include:

The Rt. Honourable Kim Campbell, P.C., C.C., O.B.C., Q.C.,

19th Prime Minister of Canada: The first (and only) woman Prime Minister of Canada The Honourable Jean Augustine, P.C., C.M., O. Ont, C.B.E.

The first African Canadian Woman elected to Federal Parliament The Honourable Ethel Blondin-Andrew, P.C.

The first First Nations woman elected to Federal Parliament The Honourable Hedy Fry, P.C., M.P.

The longest-serving woman MP in Canadian History Libby Davies

The first (openly) 2SLGBTQ+ woman MP elected to Federal Parliament Nancy Karetak-Lindell

The first Inuk woman elected to Federal Parliament Laurin Liu: The youngest woman ever elected to Federal Parliament

For more information visit

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top